Savage model 10 vs Savage Axis II Xp

syonyc

Inactive
Hi,

I'm new at rifles and I was wondering, what will be a good .223 bolt action rifle for hunting? Axis or Model 10.

Or anything better. My Budget is $800

Also, what is the difference between brass rounds and steel?

Thanks

The Axis is the bottom line from Savage. I don't care for them because of looks and the fact that you can only "cheapen" something so far before actual performance is compromised. I'm sure someone will come along and relate his positive experience with the Axis(and I'm happy for him if he's satisfied). At one time, the entire line from Savage was considered "second rate" but fact has overcome rumor and many have found the Savage 110/10 rifles to be adequate or superior to other options. I own and shoot several Savage 110 series and like the option of swapping barrels if I want vs. Remington, Howa, Winchester.
Choosing the Axis would have to be my only option and your price point leaves several others.

With that kind of budget there are a plethora of options you could consider.

I have an axis, an early one when they were still the edge. I've dolled it up with a boyds stock new trigger etc but really only because it was my first and I'm sentimental towards it.

The performance has certainly been great but as pointed out above it's still a bottom line budget rifle. My biggest complaint being the magazine specifically the plastic tab that holds it in (which seems to be standard on newer savage rifles) I've never had an issue with it falling out, tho it does take a hard slap to lock it in sometimes and I just don't like the little flexible plastic tab...

If you wanted to do any kind of customizing beyond a new stock (only boyds is available as far as i know) and trigger I'd say get a 10 as there is much more after market support for them.