S & W Model 17-5 or Model 18?

Randy63

Hello all,
I have an older 5 screw K 22 Masterpiece and I love it. Lately I've been wanting a 4" K 22. I have a chance to get a NIB model 17-5 with the 4" heavy barrel for $400. I'd like to know if I'd be better off waiting for a nice older model 18. How do the newer 17's compare to the older model 18's? The 17's with the 4" barrel were only made for a couple of years. I shoot my guns but like to buy guns that may have some collector interest in the future.

Thanks in advance,

Randy

Well, I don't think you would go wrong either way, but the 18 would most likely be a little cheaper unless you find a NIB one. I paid $189 for mine, and almost all that i have ever seen for sale around here fall in the < $300 range.

I have not played with the 17-5, so I am not really sure how heavy that barrel is. I think I would try to handle them both and see how the extra 'nose' from heavy barrel changes the balance.

The 17-5 may have higher resale potential due to its more limited production, but i think that i would still base the choice on which felt better in my hand.

Last edited:
Greeting's All,

Both are nice weapons, and would be a joy
to own; but I believe that I would wait on
an older Smith model 18, with triple T's
if there's one to be had. (Target hammer,
target trigger, and goncolo avle target
grip's)

Best Wishes,
Ala Dan, N.R.A. Life Member

In the 6" K-22s I prefer the short lug, lighter barrel. Personal taste. Have not tried the 4" ones.

I do see that there is no book premium for the 4" barrels.

Sooooo.....whichever likes you would be the one for you.

Sam

Model 18!!! I've had several, but traded them off in my younger (read STUPID!) years. In my humble opinion, like the Model 19, "Combat Magnum", one of the BEST guns ever produced by Smith & Wesson! My love is for the 4-screw models.

What exactly is the difference between the Mod 17 and 18? Adjustable sights on the 17?