Rossi 92 vs Marlin 1894

Mattj4867

Hi all. I’ve been looking for a lever gun in 44mag and can’t decide which would be a better buy. Both of these companie’s customer service and quality have been questionable lately. The Rossi is $50-$100 cheaper than the marlin. I like both designs equally. Which company would you go with?

I have no experience with the Marlin but my Rossi has been excellent. A little rough around the edges but well built and has smoothed out nicely with use.

I'd take the Marlin everyday, and twice on Sunday... although I would search for a true JM stamped Marlin, not a Remington Marlin.

I owned both and traded them. I now own a Winchester 1873 in .357.

If I had to choose one, the JM stamped Marlin would be my first choice. Built by the original gunsmiths, it is very easy to clean. Just remove one screw and the bolt comes off for easy maintenance. These rifles are reliable and accurate.

The Rossi has a 50/50 reputation, when it comes to reliability. Mine worked well. It is accurate. However, you must dismantle many components in order to clean it.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

However, you must dismantle many components in order to clean it. 

No doubt about that^^^. I break mine down for a thorough cleaning once a year, other than that I just clean the barrel, shoot some CLP on the bolt, cycle it, clean the areas I can reach.

Whatever:

It shoots through the same hole more often than not. Eats everything from BB 430 grain +P to my home load Trail Boss subsonics and shoots them all well as I am the limiting factor, not the rifle. And it is a Remington owned Marlin. And it is beautiful. And it is the smoothest cycling Marlin I have ever owned of many since I came of age in the 60s.

3C

I don't know anything about the Rossi. I don't know if I have ever seen one.