Rifle Newbie Here

Leslie88

Inactive
Hey everyone,

So, I'm totally new to rifles. Fairly new to firearms in general. I have my Sig p320 compact and Sig p938 scorpion for carry. Looking for some help in my first rifle selection. It's just recreation, not hunting.

I love rifles, and long range shooting. Its way more intriguing to me than pistol shooting at the range. I want to purchase my first rifle. I have a few ranges near me in CT, but since I feel shooting a rifle indoors just doesn't feel right the one range I can go to is outdoors with a 100 yard rifle range.

Do I go with a simple .22lr, like the Savage Arms Mark II or Ruger American? Or something bigger like the Remington 783, in .270 or .243?

Thanks everyone, I look forward to your input.

Obviously starting out on a 22LR will afford you with WAY more trigger time on the gun due to the low cost of ammo. My opinion is that every man and woman should own at least one 22LR rifle at all times. You may as well start now.

Are you just going to shoot the rifle at the range or do you have other plans for it? 22LR maximum range is 100 for practical purposes. Accuracy will start falling off at 100 yards and beyond fairly quickly. 50 yards is the sweet spot for most 22LR rifle shooting.

You can shoot 500 rounds of 22LR for $40-$60 and you won't feel a thing. You can shoot 500 rounds of 270 for $400-$500 and your shoulder will start getting sore at about the 100 round mark, sooner if you're skinny or a little later if you're thicker in the torso area.

I think everyone should start with a 22. Once the basics are mastered you can move up to a center fire. Actually a 22 fired at 100 yards or farther is fun and challenging. Even though I own center fire rifles and shoot at ranges of 300+ yards often I still enjoy shooting the 22's.

Without knowing how much you're willing to spend making specific suggestions is difficult. But an accurate bolt gun with a decent scope is never a bad choice.