Remington Thunderbolt 22lr

triplebike

I really enjoy shooting my 22 handguns and I shoot them a lot. 22LR is getting a bit scarce in my neck of the woods and after the last drought a few years back, I made a promise to myself to always keep 10 thousand on hand. So today I was at my LGS and they had the Thunderbolt 500 pack for $15.00, picked up 4 boxes. I have never used this ammo before and I must say I was pleasantly surprised with it's performance. I fired about 250/300 rds without a single problem and the accuracy was quite acceptable. I know it's not as clean as my federal bulk stuff, but I clean my guns after every range trip so it's not that big a deal. I won't hesitate to pick up another few thousand rounds since it priced right. The two handguns I ran it through today was a Ruger SR22 & a Ruger MKIV 22/45 LITE.

I can't figure out why a company that makes such good center-fire ammo makes such 'hity rim-fire ammo.

It would have to be free for me to bother taking it then it wouldn't be worth shooting in a semi-auto since it's so dirty. Blazer .22 is almost as bad but more reliably goes bang when you pull the trigger.

Tony

I haven't used any in over 20 years. They used to be nasty and more squibs and duds than you could shake a stick at. I have heard they used powder swept off the floor in them and I wouldn't doubt it.

I have most of a case of pre Obama Thunderbolts. Boxes of 50 in bricks. Good ammo, really as good as Rem Golden at the time. Pre Obama ammo from Rem, Win, Fed and CCI was all good ammo compared to today’s rimfires. I have several cases of pre Obama stock. Most in brick form. Even Bulk was dependable then. Trouble today is there is no reject. I’ve not seen as many dud rounds in my whole life as I’ve seen in one day at range. My old ammo shoots fine. The factory fresh stuff is lousy. Most is bad priming, they usually go off on second try.