• At least 40 feet but less than 50 feet

Votes: 1 1.6%
  • 50 feet or more

Votes: 1 1.6%

• Total voters
  • Poll closed .
Status
Not open for further replies.
Since I'm 72 years old and have not yet had to deal with a home invasion, I have no "typical" encounters on which to base a reply. I suspect the same is true for most people on this forum.

He didn't write "maximum," he wrote "typical." And "typical" can only apply in the case of multiple, similar incidents.

Can't help it -- I'm a technical writer and editor. Words have meanings, and they are the only medium we have for communication. Life's too short for me to guess what someone might have meant other than what he/she wrote.

I agree with Aguila...

Perhaps it should be changed to "maximum potential range of a home defense encounter in your home"

I went with 10-20.... unless I'm completely surprised, I'm not letting anyone closer than 10 ft before a response... and that's only if I'm holding them at gunpoint.

If I'm not already in "firing position", if the attack commences, I'll be shooting before they get to 10ft, hopefully.

Mainly, I hope that I never find out..

I am going to assume the question is at what distance do I expect to engage an attacker inside my home. I chose the 1-10' range, but I agree with cheapshooter that 5-15' might be plausible. Things happen very quickly at those distances...

I figure about 10 feet. If someone breaks in at night I'll be upstairs in bed. It's about 10' from our defensive position to the top of the stairs where I intend to stop anyone trying to proceed while my wife is on the phone with 911. They can root around as much as they want downstairs while law enforcement is in route. They will be loudly warned that we've called for assistance and leaving is their best option.

Aguila Blanca said:
He didn't write "maximum," he wrote "typical." And "typical" can only apply in the case of multiple, similar incidents.