Questions about Blazer Brass ammo box warnings

photographix

I'm pretty new to handguns after a long hiatus away from the sport.

While at the range today, they had some CCI Blazer Brass 9mm for $13. I couldn't resist the price and decided to replenish what I shot, plus an extra box.

Got home, and was looking at the box, having never bought Blazer Brass before, though I have purchased other Blazer types before.

On the back of the box, there were a couple warnings that aren't on my boxes of WWB, Win SuperX, or Aguila boxes:

"Do not use in firearms with ported barrels or ported recoil compensators."

...and...

"Not for law enforcement use."

As for the first warning, is Blazer Brass really dirty or something, throwing out large bits of ash through the ports on a ported weapon? (No, my pistols are not ported.)

As for the second warning, the ammo is FMJ ball. So I assume it's not for duty use, but is it not for LE practice either?

I know this is a really cheap price for 9mm. Will I need to clean my pistol more often/better if I run this?

Thanks for your time from your favorite curious newbie.:)

Last edited:
...is Blazer Brass really dirty or something, throwing out large bits of ash through the ports on a ported weapon? (No, my pistols are not ported.)

As for the second warning, the ammo is FMJ ball. So I assume it's not for duty use, but is it not for LE practice either?

I know this is a really cheap price for 9mm. Will I need to clean my pistol more often/better if I run this?

Thanks for your time from your favorite curious newbie.:)

Before starting to handloading, I shot more Blazer Brass than any other commercially loaded ammunition. It was inexpensive, reputable and available. It never seemed to perform any dirtier or significantly different in any other way than other commercially available ammunition. You will not have to clean your firearms any sooner or any more thorough than usual.