Pro-Gun wife giving me problems...help!

Steve Smith

Ok, my wife and I are both very pro-gun, I'm an NRA certified instructor, and she will be son as well. We both have carry permits, and we both use them (but I use mine more). Recently, I've decided to start carrying spare mags. My wife sees this as a little "Psycho." How do I counter this? Much thanks.

When off-duty, I always carried spare magazines. Ever had a magazine failure? It happens, and you never seem to be able to call 'time out' in the middle of an incident....

An extra magazine is considered by most 'experts' (as well as the rest of us who actually USE autos) as a necessity. Don't carry one, and get murphed. whatever bad that can happen will happen.

By the way, my mag failure came early in my career from clothing lint in the magazine. The follower failed to advance in the tube due to the buildup on the inside, thus a major feed problem. I learned, and now tear down my magazines every week for cleaning. Still, I'd rather have a backup mag with me.

Spare mags should be mandatory when you're carrying. As posted above malfunction clearance can require them. People say "Well most gunfights have 3 or fewer shots fired." Well be being in a gunfight you have already beaten the odds once. Plus they help balance out the weight of the gun. Just read a post recently where an individual dropped his sidearm and the magazine busted open and could not be repaired on the spot. Since he ahd a spare he was ok. Otherwise you've got a single shot gun. There are enough variables as it is. Spare ammo is one that you can control. Just my $0.02, byerly.

Already used the "mag malfunction" reason, which is the best reason for carrying extra mags...that rationale got a seriously disbelieving look, and "Our mags work great...I've never seen them fail, and neither have you." That was the truth, but saying, "Just because they always work doesn't meant that they always will," didn't seem to help.

Keep 'em coming.