Pre-measured loads

DealHunter

I'd been looking for an excuse to get into BP shooting and found it in a nice used ROA a few days ago. Now, there are outdoor ranges I can shoot BP at, but I wanted to try it out at the local county indoor range (which is actually pretty nice) since it's closer and much warmer (I don't want numb fingers when doing something new). The catch is they require any BP shooting be done with pre-measured loads to "avoid any loose powder handling on the firing line".

So, what would be the best way to transport pre-measure loads? Little glass or plastic vials (like those used in various labs)? I'd consider paper cartridges but I've never made any before...

Suggestions are appreciated since I'm new to this :)

I've bought plastic vials on ebay that hold 35grs of black powder.They're nice because you don't have to do any measuring just fill them up.You can find them by doing a search for ruger old army on ebay.

What I use

0003-2.jpg

Go to any photo developing place and get empty 35mm plastic vials with caps. Getting harder to find with digital cameras but when you can you can get hundreds for free. I can't believe you found an indoor range that will let you shoot black powder. Must have a good ventilation system.

N-SSA shooters use plastic plugs of a matching diameter to your bullet. You pour in the powder charge, then stuff the bullet in the end. To use, pull out bullet, pour in powder, then drop in bullet.

S&S Firearms sells, them.

Steve

Diabetic blood testing strip come in a sturdy canister j u St like film. A little smaller but they may work. I might have to start saving mine.

I'm not getting mouthy, but......