powder throwers

Harrells' when price is no object (I have two/used constantly)
Add to that positive/easily-repeatable micrometer settings for different powers/loads

post: I also have a 50-year old Redding... in the closet ;)

Last edited:
I've been using the RCBS Uniflow for the past 50 years or so. Works fine for me.

Accuracy depends on the uniformity of user, understanding the right way to operate it, and that the markings are just general, not exactly what the measure throws with every different powder possible.

If I need charge weight accuracy down to a tenth of a grain, I'm weighing each charge anyway.

I like my RCBS Chargemaster Combo. It weighs each charge, and tells me if it goes over. Charge the case and it auto repeats. I like the Lyman 55 and use the Lee PPM and use them sometimes, but they do not incorporate weighing each charge in front of me.

Last edited:
Since I started loading 22lr I needed a precision scale with .01 grain accuracy. Because I'm a bit of an OCD type, I use it for all my charge loading now--for bigger cartridges I'll start with a conventional RCBS chargemaster powder dispenser to within a half grain and finish the load on the scale with hand-trickling. Probably a waste of time; simply makes me feel better.;)

Last edited:
NHSHOOTER,

For stick powders, hands down, my choice is the JDS Quick Measure. It is a bit odd to adjust and takes getting get used to, but they guarantee stick powder charges within 0.2 grains, and I've never seen mine go outside that limit, and it usually stays within 0.1 grains as long as it is firmly mounted. The only thing that will throw weight more precisely is an electronic dispensing unit, but anytime I've found a good load, it has proven insensitive to a couple of tenths of a grain of variation. I only weigh during load development.