Portable climbing deer stand recommendations?

twins

I'm a novice when it comes to deer stand. Please recommend a good portable climbing deer stand and any associated equipment needed with it. Thanks for any assistance.

lone wolf

I have not used many climbing tree stands I have you some older styles are absolutely horrendous to use the best climbing treestand I have ever used is a lone wolf. They are very light and easy to use. that is my opinion but I have a very limited experience with climbing tree stands.

Mike brings up a good point. Very few stands are equally suited to both gun and bow. With most stands, you need to pick one or the other. You can shoot a gun out of a bow stand but not vice versa - you'll just be less comfortable sitting in a bow stand.

Interesting. I didn't know there was such a thing as a "bow stand" versus a "gun stand".

I've hunted with several climbers and have friends/family with several others. We've all shot both gun and bow from all of them.

As far as I'm concerned, the answer to the climbing stand question is Lone Wolf.

I too have in the past used a Lone Wolf climbing deer stand. There is something about them portable climbing stands that just doesn't sit right with me all that well. The older one gets. The less likely one likes to us them contraptions I think.Tipping the scales at 252 I had to be careful with my choice of a climbing deer stand back then. "Us big fellers don't bounce well." Actually my climber has been sitting out in my lawn shed unused for probably 10 years at least. Oh don't get me wrong they all do what there suppose to do. But you have to be very cautious when using any of them. As far as my choice. There is no choice. By far and away the Lone Wolf for its strength and since it's now being built back in America again. That too.