opinions on the legendary.44 mag revolver

speed

I would be interested in hearing some disscusion on this powerfull cartridge.

I don't have a specific question but I would like to hear from those who own or shoot the .44,

My only experience with it is the ruger redhawk that I rented at an outdoor range,it was very expensive to rent and shoot but I had to try it,I really enjoyed it but I just don't know enough about the caliber to justify purchasing one.

Let me know your experiences with it and try to discuss it's practical uses,limitations,etc...

I'm still pretty new to tfl and I would like in the future to discuss other calibers in depth one at a time ,Has this been done?,if so was it done in a satisfactory way?

Would anyone else enjoy participating in such disscusion?

I think it would be a great help to many including myself and I look foward to your responses.

I like to think of the 44 Magnum as the most powerful "common" handgun cartridge around. It isn't exactly overkill when you use it for defense, but it is still ample to take out most of this nation's largest predators.

speed: Hi! I don't need a .44 Magnum. I don't hunt for a variety of reasons and handgun hunting is one of the best reasons for needing a .44 Mag. Most weekends I do hit the mountain trails here in Utah and there are bears, but again for a variety of reasons I carry a .357 Magnum and not a .44. I've got other guns, .357 Magnums, 9 mm, .45 ACP that are much better for self defense, so I don't plan on/practice with a .44 Magnum for this purpose.