Ok, here's my first question for all of you...

Status
Not open for further replies.

LoriAnn

Inactive
...Am I the only one here who is not a gun owner? I'm just curious. For those of you who are gun owners and have children...at what age did you start teaching your children about gun safety? Ok, I know! That was 2 questions! :D

No kids in my house but I recommend teaching them as soon as possible. Like Eddie Eagle (of the NRA safety training program for kids) says, "Don't Touch! Tell an adult."

------------------
Vigilantibus et non dormientibus jura subveniunt

My wife and I took our daughters to a country range when they were 3 and 4 y/o. We already had discussed guns and safety at home.

I've already told the story on TFL so, for brevity, the girls saw the violence of a big bore pistol and the fun of shooting .22 rifle - all in one day (that I'll long cherish).

Dad started me out at the age of 3 with BB guns and always stressed safty.

I started shooting 22's around the age of 6-7 and by the time I was a boyscout was pretty good shot with .22 rifles and pistols.

Stared shooting hi-power rifles around age 13-14, and centerfire handguns around the same time.

Got my first .22 Rifle at 11-12, my first .22 pistol at 16, my first hi-power rifle at 14 (30-30), my first shotgun at 19 and my first centerfire pistol at 21.

Some of us have been at this a long time. ;)

We started my nephew on BB guns at 5.

Dr.Rob

I don't own any guns at the moment.

(Jeez, I can't believe I said that. Yoo hoo! Burglars! Over here!)

FWIW, I have been maintaining a pro-gun web site for two years before I bought a gun of my own.

------------------
Oleg

http://dd-b.net/RKBA

I don't think that you are the only one, LoriAnn. I myself currently own only one functioning shotgun and two antique ones. Gonna be buying myself a Ruger pistol soon though (I hope).