NYC and police harassment

Status
Not open for further replies.

Bubsy

I'm a licensed handgun owner who has a NYC Residence Permit with 5 registered handguns. I work as a social worker in a "tough hood" in NYC, and most of the teens I work with are gang members who are referred from the criminal justice system.

Early this month, I stopped at a Chinese takeout to get lunch and spoke with a coupe of my clients who happen to be members of a local bloods gang. A few minutes later, the captain of the precinct precinct pulled me over along with detectives. They did (what my lawyer said is an illegal search) of me and my vehicle. They kept asking me if I had any guns in the car, and I told them that I didn't. ( I only carry my gun to and from the pistol range every Sunday) I had an NRA sticker on the rear window of my SUV. When they searched me, they found a folding knife on me which they declared "illegal" (they said any knife is an illegal weapon) and they gave me a summons for illegal possession of a knife. It was a gift from the father of a former client of mine who happened to be a police officer in Nassau County Long Island.

Trouble is, by having received a "summons" I had to contact the Police Licensing bureau who told me to turn in ALL my guns to my local police precinct as well as my license which was "suspended pending investigation". So know I'm w/o any of my guns all because of my carrying a folding knife.

In the meantime, the gang members in the community that I work in are able to get guns and knives whenever they want to.

Something seems seriously wrong with NYC's laws.

bubsy

was there ever any doubt ? New York, Chicago , Wash DC, and California.

In my part of the country they would never have stopped you, and even if you had a legal gun and knife on you, I'm not sure they would ever care as long as you didn't pull either one out on them. You never would have gotten a summons, had to register any of your guns, etc.

You are in the "liberal zone".