New to the forum!

PatrickBateman

Hey everyone!

Im pretty new to guns. I lived in Jersey my whole life and just recently moved to Wisconsin where gun laws are alot more... "lax" for lack of a better term. Im 19, and I am looking to make my first firearm purchase. Over the past few months I've done nothing but lurk forums and read gun magazines and reviews trying to find the right one for me. So I would come here to ask for some opinions on which gun I should get as my first. Im kind of on a budget (less than $600), and I initially was drawn to a Revolver (Taurus 608-6 in .357 mag), but I find my self more drawn to semi autos as of late. My main issue now is the caliber. Im leaning towards 357 sig, but am also strongly considering 9mm, and 40s&w. I would be using this gun for open carry, and home defense until I turn 21 when I can get my Concealed carry license. Any suggestions on firearms, ammo, or anything are greatly appreciated! Thanks for having me on the forum, and sorry for the long introduction. If you took the time to read it, thank you!

PS: Mods, if this is in the wrong section, sorry!

If at all possible, try to put a couple bucks away every week and get something other than a Taurus. Quality control with Taurus is hit-or-miss (you can read that in plenty other threads on this forum), and their customer service is, shall we say, "spotty."

YMMV

You will gain from opinions and advice, but more may be gained by renting/or otherwise shooting as many choices as you can. There is a somewhat personal aspect in the purchase, use, and ownership of a weapon, which often is the deciding factor.