Need help 8MM Mauser

Joshuak

Inactive
Hello all,

My Grandfather passed away and left me a rifle. I didnt know what it was so i took it to the local gun shop and he said it was a 8MM Mauser Sporterized . I would like to know a little more about this rifle because its a pretty cool one to my collecton plus it was my grandfathers....The only markings are on the side of the rec.View attachment 82806

imagejpeg_3.jpg

I'm no expert, but,,,

I'm no expert, but,,,

That bolt doesn't resemble any Mauser action I've ever seen,,,
It certainly doesn't resemble my K-98 at all.

In fact, it looks more like a Japanese rifle,,,
The knurled end of the bolt looks like a 7.7 Japanese rifle I once owned.

I would take it to a different gun store,,,
You need a second opinion my friend.

Aarond

Doesn't look like a Mauser, but rather a Japanese Arisaka (Type 99?). Are you sure it's chambered for 8mm Mauser rather than the Japanese 7.7mm round? Apparently the Chinese did convert some Arisakas to 8mm Mauser but it isn't exactly a common thing to run across.

edit: looks like someone beat me to it.

See the box he had it in had a 7.62 jap round box in and a pack of winchester 8mm's so i was lost .I started doing research on mausers and couldnt find anything like this so i thought why not just ask the people who know the most

this is an odd little rifle.
1. that is 100% without a doubt NOT a mauser. only one group of rifles has a bolt style resembling that and it is the japanese Arisaka. I am not familiar enough with them to know the exact model.

2. japanese rifles used oddball ammo that were and still are hard to get ahold of. not one of them should be chambered in 8 mauser unless your grandfather had it rechambered to match all his VFW buddy's bringback mausers.

3. the lettering and markings on the side of the reciever should not be hindi but should be japanese numerals. there should be a round flower under the scope bases.