My now ex-friend...

Jets2007

After tonight, I have lost a great deal of respect for LEO's...One of my best friends from childhood is a 'NYC police officer'... I will be a 'NYS peace officer' in a few months.. basically the same powers except for executing search warrants. As far as carrying a weapon goes, it's all the same... after telling him what Dept I will be going into he says 'ohhhh you won't be a real cop.. i am a real cop.. I do this and that... '... To my friend _____... I don't condone you bragging about 'violating peoples rights' and getting away with it. We have been friends since we re kids.. I am very sad to see that you love trampling on peoples rights (after all of the stories you told me). I would wish you good luck... However, I would not mean it. I am a lot smarter than you (legally and logically).. and I hope you come to your senses before some big shot lawyer has it out with you. Actually, I take that back, I hope a constitutional lawyer rips you a new one.

Since we were 10 yrs old we have been best of friends. However, after tonight, I have lost all respect for you. I will ignore your presence in the future. We shall never speak again, my ex-friend. To everybody else who is/was friends with a LEO.. be very cautious. Power is intoxicating. I guess all of those camping and hunting trips amounted to nothing after all of these years... A very sobering night indeed....

This is not ment to be LEO bashing.... it's just a sobering reminder of what happens to some people once they see a little power...

_____, I would still call you a friend. However, I no longer trust you or respect you....

As the old saying goes, there's one in every crowd.

If you were to lump all the LEOs into a large stadium and eject all of those who were like your friend, it'd still look like a pretty full stadium.