Mosin Nagant M91/30 ....hunting?

WolfMacabre

I got a Mosin Nagant M91/30 the other day, and I plan on using it for hunting. I'm still pretty new to guns, especially rifles. So I'm just wondering what is better for hunting, FMJ, Soft Point, or Hollow Point?

And since we're on the subject what are all the different types and what are they good for?

I would go with a soft point. But I have no idea on what you are hunting.
: soft points good expanding with deep penetration.
Good for hunting deer and just about everything else.
:hollow point expand very well. Good for hunting as well, but not so good for penetration. So I would stick to thin skinned game.
: fmj absolutely do NOT use for hunting!!! They do not expand at all. And just go straight through the animal without expanding it's energy inside of it. But they are good for plinking.

On second thought, I'd be very leery of some of the commercial hunting rounds like the Double Tap with the 200 gr. Nosler Accubonds.

Sounds great, but Nosler's 200 gr. Accubond is a .308 bullet- which will most likely shoot like dog doo out of most Mosin Nagants.

I had that problem with a couple of boxes of Prvi- the bullets were .308 dia.
Most MN's (including mine, I shoot Sierra Match Kings) need .311 bullets (sometimes larger) to shoot well.

Best to slug the bore of your rifle, and determine what it needs.

I agree with tobnpr... Definitely test out whatever commercial ammunition you decide to go with. Several commercial brands have shot horrible groups out of my rifle, whereas surplus ammo maintains a good standard of accuracy. However, I think most if not all surplus is FMJ