Making black powder?

jeager106

You that make black powder.
Is it difficult?
Where to you get KNO3?
Sulphur?
Charcoal?
I believe from what I've read charcoal isn't hard to make & certain willows & alder are reported to make very good charcoal.
Y'all got me to thinking the unthinkable.
Making some for myself.:eek:
I read where real blk powder guys make percussion caps but where does one get rolled caps these days?

There are quite a few threads about this already. There are plenty of sites online where you can get pyro stuff for making black powder. You can also go to Lowe's and get sprectracide stump remover as it's almost pure KNO3. I make my own charcoal from pine 2x4 rather than mess around with finding willow (although I do have some willow just haven't cooked it yet). I'm pretty new to this as well, and I've got all the gear to make some sulfurless black powder. I'm hoping that will work well with my percussion guns and rifles. If not, I'll use that to make black match fuse, and get some sulfur to make some more black powder. I don't plan to corn it, just ball mill, wet, and screen.

myself i have found the hardwood or willow is best . for hardwood go to walmart and by you a bag of Royal oak True hardwood charcoal . its actual branches of hardwood not a bracket .

all the rest of the ingredients can be found at most farm stores or garden supply centers . but i would suggest if your buying you components , at least make yourself familiar with how to make or collect your own naturally. That way when the time comes when the components become harder to buy , your not left empty handed .

Cap I know how to make saltpeter and charcoal, but where can I find sulfur if I don't live near a volcano? :confused: ;)

I've used "dusting sulfur" from the hardware store before. It's not pure sulfur (it contains 10% Bentonite clay, I've been told) but it didn't seem to make much difference with the finished product.