Loooking at some 22s for target and plinking

dlflyer

Inactive
Been looking to buy a 22 pistol for target and just fun shooting. I'm not an expert at shooting but want a gun I won't out grow. Been looking at the Ruger Mark III and the Smith & Wesson 22a. I have read about the cleaning nightmares of the Mark III, I'm not scared. I don't know enough about either to make up my mind and I'm looking for help. This is my first post on the website. I have looked around some and like what I see. Thanks for helping.

Get the Ruger over the 22a, the Ruger is a better gun.
If you want more accuracy get a S&W 41 but be prepared to pay a lot more than a Ruger.

Aarond's post is good advice.

My choice was the Beretta Neos. I got past the unusual styling and wound up with a pistol that is accurate, extremely reliable even with bulk ammo, and easy to shoot well and to clean, all at a very reasonable price. I would advise you to have it on your list of pistols to look at.

Got a kick out of TailGator's comment regarding bulk .22 ammo. If you have some bulk .22 ammo, you can probably trade it for any of the pistols mentioned.

Reloading 9mm is most likely less expensive than "attempting" to buy .22 rim fire. :(

I have a Mark III Target, and my Dad just got a new Buckmark Camper, and honestly I kinda wish I'd have gone the Browning route. Although.... I haven't shot his Buckmark on paper yet, and I did finally shoot a hundred rounds or so out of my Ruger at 10 yards, and the accuracy of it impressed me.

I have a Beretta Neos 6". Been a great plinker, already has a rail for an optic. Almost a thousand rounds through mine without much trouble. The s&w is next on my list.

I haven't shot any of my .22s in quite a few years and probably won't until the ammo prices get back to where they are *supposed* to be. The Ruger Mk-II that I have (10" barrel) is a tack driver though.