Looking for negative feedback on Kimber Ultra Carry, CZ50/70 and HK P7M8

Oleg Volk

Staff Alumnus
These are three guns on my shopping list. I wonder about Kimber's backstrap which feels like a rasp but otherwise it seems perfect. P7 points well but I wonder about its size and weight in proportion to the power. CZ50/70 is cheap, points well for me but is an unknown (my gunsmith carries one at times, otoh the one I fired at the range jammed with ball ammo).

If you have owned any of these three and decided to get rid of it (or relegate to a safe shelf), tell me the reasons.

I own a Kimber PRO CDP and a H&K P7M8 and the only foreseeable reason to sell either one would be one of my children needing a bone marrow transplant or something else equally despondent. I have no experience with the CZ50/70.

Some negative feedback

It pains me, but I'll provide some negative feedback on the two guns with which I'm familiar -- the Kimber and the H&K. I regret having sold my PSP, which was an incredibly accurate and pointable pistol, but here are some of the reasons: 1) the heat build-up that occured while shooting made the trigger and trigger guard too hot to touch. I shot my CCW qualifier (50 rds./perfect score) with the PSP, and it was quite painful towards the end. 2) The balance of weight in the grip, which makes the gun so pointable, also makes it a little awkward for IWB carry, my prefered mode. Some people don't experience this problem, but for me it became an issue.

I still have a Kimber Compact CDP (not the Ultra), and one thing that finally drove me crazy was the sharp checkering on the mainspring housing. I've hunted around for a serrated housing like Les Baers use, but haven't located one yet for the Officer's size frame. As an interim measure, I took a file and ground the points down. Otherwise, it has been an excellent carry gun.

Mark
jmb@sarpedon.com

See pics of my guns and articles at http://www.sarpedon.com