Looking at single actions

Bigfatts

So for years I've wanted a single action revolver in .45 Colt. Originally I was between the 1858 conversion and the Schofield. Looking more recently it looks like the Schofields have surpassed my price range. So now I am between the 1858 conversion by Uberti and the 1875 Outlaw by Cimarron, both with 5" +/- barrels. I have no experience with either and have never even seen either in person. So looking for some input. I don't really have a practical purpose for it other than I want it, maybe it'll tag along on a hog hunt once in a while.

I wouldn't call that blowing it. I have no hands on experience with either of the two revolvers other than cap & ball versions of the 58.

Well, I had a Schofield a few years ago and I liked it, but it gummed up quick with black powder cartridges which is my preference. Shot very well with smokeless though. The grip takes some getting used to. I also have an 1858 Remington with a Kirst conversion cylinder, shoots like a champ!

BC is correct, Schofields do not like black powder. I own a Uberti 1858 conversion in 44-40 and a Uberti 1875, also in 44-40 and there isn't a whole lot of difference between the two. They balance and feel about the same. Both shoot BP rounds well but still bind up quicker than a colt style revolver. The biggest difference is the ejector rods. On the 75' it is a spring loaded rod like the colts have. On the 58' you have to lower the loading lever, turn the rod head out and then you can unload the gun. The rod has no spring, so you have to punch out an empty shell, then pull the rod back out of the cylinder before you can turn to the next chamber. It sounds like more of an ordeal than it is, but the 75' is simpler. Both are great revolvers and I think you would be happy with either. Basically it boils down to which one looks better to you.