Long gun thru mail, Fed-x, UPS-new twist

gkdir

Heres my deal. I live in Fla, relatives live in Kansas. They are not gun owners, I am. They have a varmint problem on land they own, they call me "hey bud, can you loan me a rifle to take care of a varmint problem we have". Ok, I box up a nice Ruger M77 Mark II in .223 (no ammo) and ship it who ever will take it, insured, signature required. They recieve it and the carranage begins. Question- have I broken any ATF regs. by loaning it to them, and shipping it to them? Thanks

You cannot ship a gun to a private individual across state lines. The only people you can ship guns to outside of your state is an FFL.

Yes you have broken the law.

Only way to ship it cross state lines and not to a FFL is to ship it to yourself. But you have to be there to sign for it also.

Now, I'm not a lawyer, but I believe it's okay to leave it up there yourself.

For example say you live in Florida, but for some reason are going to have to live in DC for a bit. Your can't bring your guns into DC (well you could but not sure what the hoops are to do so) You're friend lives in Virginia. So you bring your gun on your trip, but drop it off at your friends before you enter DC. Then when you're done with DC you pick up the weapon on the way home.

Does that count as transferring it to the friend? I don't believe so.

Would it if you friend borrows it and takes it to the range one day?

1. You did not break Federal law by loaning them the gun:

18 USC 922(a)(5):
(a) It shall be unlawful—