Levergun suitable bullets

glenspen

I just bought my first rifle, a new model 1873 Winchester in .357, and I was unsure about what bullets I can load it up with.

I read that the pointed bullets can strike the round in front and cause big problems but I wondered if that was also true with round top type bullets?

Right now i'm sticking to Magtech SJSP rounds because they have flat tops

Any advice is greatly appreciated as I'm very new to firearms and this is my plinker rifle to entertain guests and shoot rabbits

Pointy bullets can cause discharges in the mag tube. If the recoil is heavy enough. Mind you, there aren't a lot of pointy .357" bullets. An RN will sit with it's end on the primer in front of it. Use SWC's and you'll be fine.

I just did a quick google image search for an example. Not sure which actual cartridges these are but the last few on the right (7 and 8) would be questionable and the others would all work just fine.

53984.jpeg

In theory pointed bullets could, but I've not ever heard of it actually happening. I don't think you'll find any 357 mag ammo that would be a problem anyway.

Howdy

Now maybe somebody who actually owns a couple of 1873 rifles should chime in.

DO NOT use pointed bullets in a rifle chambered for 'pistol cartridges' with a tubular magazine. DO NOT use conventional round nosed bullets in a rifle with a tubular magazine. Your best bet is bullets that are Round Nosed Flat Point. RNFP. Or Flat Point Round Nose, same thing. Semi-Wadcutters are also good, but because of the square shoulder they can have feeding problems. Truncated Cone bullets are also good.

It is not the force of recoil that is likely to cause a bullet nose to fire a primer it is sitting against, it is the slamming that happens every time the carrier strips one round out of the magazine and the follower slams the entire column of cartridges back all at once. Much more force is exerted that way than in recoil.