Kidneys?

I have been hunting whitetail deer for several years now and pride myself on processing them myself and making sure nothing goes to waste. I have heard from a couple people that the kidneys can be eaten, and was wondering if anyone has tried them and if they are any good to eat?

You can !!

Actually, you can eat most of the internal organs. Early settlers and Native Americans, or real Americans, did just that and even more. ..... :eek:

I have eaten beef kidneys and they were good, but never from a deer. I've eaten deer liver and still prefer calve's liver. Keep in mind that the Donner party would have eaten the back end of skunk if they could have. ..... ;)

Try it and;
Be Safe !!!

I found a couple sites with information on them. They say to peel them first but other then the thick membrane on them they taste alot like heart apparently. The biggest reason alot of people don't eat them is because of the texture I guess. I'll take a plate of heart over a plate of tenderloins any day. Looks like the coyotes are going to have a little less meat this winter.

Slice them, soak them overnight in just enough water to cover with a tsp of salt, boil them, rinse, pat dry, saute them in butter with onions and enjoy as an ingredient in something else or by themselves.

Just tell yourself that it is all Protein !!!

Every culture has it's share of recipes involving non-traditional "cuts" as we say. My stepfather was German and he introduced me to blood sausage and kidney stew. Sure do miss those sharing days. .... :)

YumYum and;
Be Safe !!!

I'm probably considered a redneck. I eat a lot of stuff other people sniff at. Kidneys are really good either fried or in a stew. Personally, I soak all my meat in reconstituted sweet condensed milk for 1 to 3 days before cooking it.