Ive been delayed in my background check??

crapster

Is this a big deal. 1st handgun purchase. I am a ligeal resident [non-citizen], store said the delay is common with non-citizens. Said i will have to wait 3 days, then no problems.....just checking to see if what they are telling me is true. I have nothing in my past that could be a problem....i know some of you were wondering :)

Is it a "conditional denial"? If so, I was told by my FFL of choice that this is to give them a few more days to dig deeper and if they don't find anything of concern, the next call will be a GOOD TO GO...
At least that is how he said Florida handles this.
Brent

conditional denial

he didnt use those words, just said delayed....said he thought it had to do with governemnt doing a background check in your country of birth...said i had passed te US portion. So we will see. Said to come back in 3 business days and i would be good to go.

said i had passed te US portion. So we will see.
I don't know how he could possibly know that. The operators in Clarksburg do not tell the FFL why a transaction is delayed.

I've spoken to folks who work in the NICS system, and if you were born on foreign soil, they have to do a check with Interpol in addition to the domestic one.

(Finding that out was a bit of a relief, as I'm always delayed.)

It's nothing to worry about; your case just has to wind its way through an additional part of the process.

My name is similar to someone who committed a high-profile crime in this state last year. So, about half the time I get delayed. It's just because they can't answer automatically and need to have a human review it to make sure.

-Jephthai-

"The operators in Clarksburg"

Maybe he doesn't live in a state that uses NICS. Like Virginia for instance. I seem to get delayed every other time; the state police are busy I guess.

John