Is this from not annealing?

lugerstew

I started shooting my Remington 700, 308 last week, and with 2 different 168 grain bullets, cfe223 new batch of powder and also does it with Lapua and Hornady brass, both loaded several times.
I am just confused, because I have shot these loads last year and never had sooting, and now it is sooting bad, but also strange is it only does it with CFE223 powder that I just purchased 5 pounds online about a month ago.
Could a powder problem actually cause this, or like I said, am I trying to get too many reloads out of brass that never has been annealed?
It has done this with my gun with 20 rounds through it after cleaning, and also did the same thing with about 90 rounds since being cleaned.
Several other kinds of brass and Imr 4064, and Reloder 15 had no problems, no sooting.
I am thinking of taking these latest Lapua rounds apart, which I only shot 3 out of the 30 of them and try loading them in some once fired Hornady brass, which still should be not work hardened and see if it stops.
Also I have been trimming my brass every time now, to .005 less than minimum, 2.000 instead of 2.005. Could this be causing the sooting?
Thanks for any advice

Attachments

• IMG_20211203_104702566.jpg
    IMG_20211203_104702566.jpg
    257.9 KB · Views: 171
  • IMG_20211203_104725057.jpg
    IMG_20211203_104725057.jpg
    221.5 KB · Views: 120
I believe sooting on cases is caused by low pressure and the brass not sealing. I'd give the chamber a clean and see if that helps the brass seal better. Make sure the chamber is dry before firing. Depending on where you're at in the book, charge weight wise, upping the charge could help in 2 areas, providing more pressure to seal the brass, and providing more pressure for the powder, helping it burn better. Of course, only do this if it's safe to do so.

Annealing could also help, and might be something easier to try than messing with your load

Sent from my SM-G996U using Tapatalk