Ingenious solution to a nonexistant problem?

Status
Not open for further replies.

dahermit

How many of you 1911 owners have ever dropped your 1911?

How many of you 1911 owners have ever dropped your 1911 from four feet in the air?

How many of you 1911 owners have ever dropped your 1911 directly on its muzzle?

How many of you 1911 owners have ever dropped your 1911 directly on its muzzle, it fired and the bullet ricocheted back and actually injured or killed you?

Evidently in regard to the necessity for a series 80 firing pin block, that must be a very common occurrence. I cannot understand that inasmuch as I have never dropped any handgun since I started shooting them in the early sixties...from four feet, directly on its muzzle...

Only takes it happening one time to someone and the insuing lawsuit results in all of us dealing with the outcome.
And while I hate to admit it, I did drop a gun once. Trying to carry too much it fell from chest height. Sacrificed my foot to break it’s fall.

Jim

Well I mean if it hasn't happened to one person, you, then certainly it's never happened at all. By that logic I don't need airbags, safety glasses, or a fire extinguisher since I've never "needed" any of those.

How many modern designs don't include some form of firing pin block? And by modern I'm including designs from the second half of the 20th Century.

I have a series 70 1911 with a titanium firing pin. I don't lose sleep over it, but I don't carry it (not for that reason, but more because there are other options I prefer). In the dozens of pistols I've owned the firing pin block has never been the source of the myriad of issues I've encountered and many of the pistols that had them still had very good triggers or could do so with a quick spring swap. I don't really see the issue other than some companies did a poor job when adding them to a design that didn't have them originally.

Sent from my Pixel 2 using Tapatalk

Last edited: