Huge Explosion!!

i started making my own about three weeks ago and its a blast, iill give a little tutorial here, its very easy, give me a few minutes to upload pics

lets start with ammoniuim nitrate choice, two kinds, ice pack or fertilizer

i have not been able to get the fertilzer to work, it has a tacky coating on it to make itr slow release, i know you can refine it, but not worth the hassle, ice packes are under 1$ everywhere(im a paramedic, so free for me) one ice pack has 60grams of pure nitrate, so approx 4bags per half pound, but still weigh it

next comes the Al powder, it must be 5 micron or less and the mix is 5% powder to 95% nitrate, 7500gr in a pound so 375gr of Al podwer to 1 pound nitrate
i choose the Eckart German pyro super, got it off amazon for under 20$ a pound shipped, i believe its 3 micron and has a graphite mix to prevent oxidization

i am doing half a pound, so i will weigh out about 170gr just to be safe

i have three containers i use, i know how much each one holds weight wise so i dont have to do so much weighing
small=half pound medium=1 pound large=2pounds

heres what good pure amminium nitrate looks like out of the ice pack

and heres the finished product, i ix the two and shake vigorously for a few and put duct tape around tupperware to get pressure

ibviously be safe, and when in doubt, add i little extra powder to the mix, but be warned, we put a cast iron pot on top of 1 pound and it turned it into a mangle string of iron, this stuff is super powerful and you must keep your distance and not be stupid

disclaimer: please note that gr is grains and not grams, i measure the Al in grains to be more precise since thats the most expensive ingredient

Last edited:
so 1 pound of the Al powder should get you wound 20 pounds of tanner, if anyone knows a way to refine the fertilizer, please let me know, would save lots of hassle