How to kill a skunk?

If the skunk is in a trap you can attach a syringe to a long pole and fill it with acetone. An injection of Actetone in the front of their chest puts them to sleep in about 1-2 seconds ----to never wake up. No spray at all. If you stay back 12 feet of so they don't spray and they will turn to face you most times.
If in a box trap is very easy.

If they are not in a trap and you need to shoot them.....well I have been doing that since I was about 8 years old (I am 60 now) and I have shot so many I could not even begin to count them all.

I have NEVER shot one with any gun at any angle with any ammo that has not sprayed.
I have used rifles from 5MM air guns to 460 Weatherby. Shotguns from 410s to 10 gauges. I have use handguns from 22 short to 454 Casull.

I have been told over and over and over "it you use a _____ and shoot them from ______ angle they won't spray."

Nope. Not so!
They spray!

Last edited:
I have shot several skunks over the years. I have seen posted advice as to keeping them from spraying before they die like, "...shoot them in the head..", "...gut shoot them...", etc. I have tried it all and most still spray when shot.

As for "why shoot them", there are good reasons. They, like opossums and racoons eat the eggs of ground-nesting birds like pheasants, quail, ducks, etc.m as well as digging up your yard looking for insects. So to answer that question, it all depends...do you want to raise skunks or ground nesting birds?

If they are in a live (box trap), a local exterminator told me that if you talk to them softly and approach slowly without appearing threatening, you can cover them with a blanket and transport them elsewhere and release them. He cautioned however, that if the skunk has been rained on, they are likely to spray. My brother confirmed the covering with a blanket method...he live trapped two-three from his property and released them elsewhere with no problem.