How often do YOU train with self defense rounds?

BillyBeards

I am very new to shooting but I do enjoy going to the range and shooting very much. I don't think twice about putting 100+ rounds through my Glock 26 but today was the first time I shot Hollow Points.
I can notice the difference for sure between the FMJ and the HP and I was curious how often some of you shoot your self defense rounds?
Please keep in mind that I am very new to shooting and because of were I live I do not carry. This is only for home defense and range practice.

Thanks

My home defense rounds are typical factory rounds. I shoot 357 magnum and I feel that any factory 125 grain JHP or SJHP is just fine.

I mostly shoot reloads but I typically load them to a similar level as factory ammo unless I am loading for hunting.

I shoot at least 1 box (50 rounds) every week end (unless I am out of town)

Last edited:
I shoot about 3 times a month and probably go through 50 to 75 self defense rounds. Most of them are shot through my S&W 637 and a mag or two through a Sig. I usually use Winchester PDX .38 +P, Federal hydra shoks or Gold dots.

I carry semi-autos, so reloads produce about the same recoil effects as self-defense rounds. Since I have ranges on my property, I shoot on average 2-3 times a week. I rarely shoot Factory self-defense ammo.
At about 10,000 rounds per year, they are just too expensive for no change in recoil/blast. Once I am sure they will work in my carry guns, I save the factory stuff.

Reloading = shoot more for less.

With pistol about once a quarter I will shoot up the magazines and reload them as part of a range trip. The shotgun is fairly similar but I shoot less due to cost of the slugs being a bit higher than pistol rounds.

The rifle I shoot fairly often.

Since my SD guns are kept loaded at home, I'll run a magazine of my SD ammo through them when I get to the range, then switch to cheaper FMJ stuff, then load them back up with SD ammo before going home.