How is the Remington 870?

Mosin-Marauder

The reason I ask this question, is because I have always wanted this shotgun. I'm serious. Like, since I was 8. Not kidding. Before I even owned a firearm. They always amazed me. The video games I used to play (yes I play/played video games, I'm a child living in the 21st century) had this shotgun in it. From what I hear it's very popular and the only shotgun I own is a 12 gauge single shot, which I'm afraid to use for HD and it kicks very hard. I'm a scrawny teenager and can barely handle my Mosin without a recoil pad. I'm very new to shotgun shooting in general and don't really even know how I would practice, as paper targets seem kinda pointless and I've only fired maybe 3 shells my entire life. But I digress, there's a Remington 870 in all black at my local Walmart for a pretty good price. So I guess here's my total questions. How is the Remington 870? Would it be a good choice for Home Defense and for a beginner to shotguns? How would I go about practicing with it?
Please don't go too hard on me for asking, Im really new to shotguns and was just wondering. Thanks for your help.
-Mo.

Edit: I'm fairly certain this is the one
http://www.remington.com/products/f...s/model-870/model-870-express-compact-jr.aspx

Last edited:
The Remington 870 has been in constant production since 1951. It is argued by most to be the best pump shotgun ever made. I have one made in 1958. Ones made from 1951 up through the sixties are probably better quality than new ones, but gun makers employed trained gunsmiths back then.

I believe you can safely buy a new one and get a quality gun.

The Wingmaster is great, the Express, (which is what Walmart, Dick's, etc. carry), has had some issues since it was built to a cheap price point. The issues for the most part are easily taken care of.

As a teenager, why are you concerned about HD?

As a teenager, why are you concerned about HD?