How good of a scope do you really need for a .22

AL45

I have limited experience with scopes but will certainly admit that the Nikon $150.00 scope I had was considerably better than the $70.00 Simmons scope my son has. That being said, for an afternoon of plinking at tin cans and prairie dogs at no more than 100 yards, is a $300.00 Leupold really necessary on a .22 LR. I'm looking for a little magnification, a clear picture, and a scope that won't rattle apart or lose accuracy under the "brutal" recoil of the mighty .22 LR. Surely there is a decent scope in the under $100.00 range that will work. Any suggestions?

200 yards and in, parallax and edge effects are minimal and won't make you miss. If the scope is solid (lifetime warranty does tell you something about an optic) and has clear glass, for your purpose, no you do not need a $300 optic.

I prefer Burris, and they have several optics in the $150 range (Droptines, MSRs, Fullfields) that are excellent quality, forever warranty and are durable. If that is too much, Sightron and Vortex both have similar optics that are in the $110 to $130 range.

You won't get any more agreement on this than any other "which scope" question but the scope on my 10/22 was bought at WalMart so long ago that I have no recollection of it's price or even brand. It has performed flawlessly since I bought the gun new, at WalMart, in approximately 1994. It's a 3-9 and that gun routinely shoots groups that I read all the time are not possible for a 10/22.

It all depends on how you use it. I like to shoot my 22's beyond 200 yds, so parallax adjustment comes into play for me as does optical quality which has a higher price point, but is worth the difference to me over a $150 scope.