How do you store your HD Shotgun?

The Colin

How do you store your HD Shotgun?

I'm new to having a shotgun in the house - so i'm trying to figure out the best way to store it for quick access. How do you keep yours? Bedside? Under the bed? behind the door? Where?

I've got a Remington 870 Express 7 shot 18.5'' loaded with Federal 00 buckshot.

I look forward to your replys!

I keep my Benelli Nova Pump behind the bedroom door (which is right next to my side of the bed) with 4 in the mag, not one in the chamber, a quick racking of the pump fixes that. And i keep one of my old hats (beanie - took, for the canadians) on top of the barrel to keep out dust or other objects, just like they did in WWII when they hit the beaches with condoms on their guns to keep the crud out, well same principle anywayit doesnt take much to shoot though an old cap

Loaded tube, chamber empty, safety off. Seven rounds of Remington managed recoil 00buck. During the day, it's in the trunk of my car, at nightit's leaning in the corner of my closet.

Full tube, not chamebered and under the bed. It's in the case but the case is open. Oh, and the .45 is in the nightstand drawer along with the flash light.

Standing up between the bed and the 7' armour about 6" from my hand when I sleep
Hammer down, empty chamber

Last edited:
I keep my semi-auto A-5 loaded with a full tube and one in the chamber, saftey on. I don't have any children and my wife one touch it so I feel comfertable with one in the chamber. I keep it right next our bed on my side.

Kids at home, so unless I'm in the bedroom sleeping, it stays in the safe. Upon retiring for the evening, it leans up against the headboard/wall with full tube + one in the chamber, safety on. Also, .45 + spare mag + flashlight on night stand.

Kids at home also.