Has the patent run out??

44 AMP

Staff
Friend of mine asked, I have no idea, so am asking the forum to find out what everyone (but me) knows...

There are currently several different companies making rifles that LOOK like they have Marlin 336 actions.

I know Ruger bought Marlin when Remington dissolved, are they not enforcing patent protection on the 336? Can they?? Are the rifles that look like 336s different enough inside to be excluded from the patent? Did Marlin's patent run out??

Just curious what the deal is, and what you know about it.

Thanks.

Cimarron sells Italian copies of the 94, very nice ones.
The patents on Marlins, Winchesters, and Colts ran out long ago. That’s why a lot of companies are making them.

The last patent that was relevant on the 336 was related to the cross bolt safety. That patent expired more than 25 years ago.

What *was* relevant was Trade Dress.
But, apparently, that died in the Marlington bankruptcy. (I am not a lawyer, I am assuming.)

I believe those Italian copies of the 94 Winchester copy a 1948, rifle , or I thank that is what I read, and is made without the safety

I thiink all of the Italian copies, of the Henry, 1866, 1873, 1886, 1892, and 1894 are all made without the safety. How do they get away with that, and all the others have the safeties. But I did read that the new Miroku built 1886 does not have a safety

I am somewhat familiar with patents, trademarks, and copyrights, the term "trade dress" is new to me, could you explain it, please?

I thiink all of the Italian copies, of the Henry, 1866, 1873, 1886, 1892, and 1894 are all made without the safety. How do they get away with that, and all the others have the safeties. But I did read that the new Miroku built 1886 does not have a safety