Handgun Hunting

MattyT

Inactive
This might be a stupid question but I am just getting into hunting with a handgun.
I have a Glock 20 10mm and GP100 .357 that I am thinking about hunting with. I reload and am trying to decide on some hunting loads.
My question: is it better to have the bullet go all the way through (hard cast) or have the possibility of it expanding and staying in the body of a deer (XTP)?

A little of both is ideal. You want the bullet to expend all its energy by expanding but when it penetrates the outer side it gives you a much better blood trail. I've seen comments from some handgun hunters that they use the flat-point version of the XTP bullet as a way to maximize both. I've never tried it but it sounds interesting.

You will get a lot of different theories, but I have yet to lose a deer or elk who had an entrance AND exit wound through the lungs whether using a bow, a handgun or a rifle.

Expansion and pass through equals easy tracking. Or even better, it drops in it's tracks from the massive trauma. I have used the XTP bullets in .357 mag., 41 mag and 44 mag. All do a good job on deer.

Jim

Thanks for the great quick replies guys. My thoughts were that the XTP would be the best of both worlds. 180-200 grain for the 10mm and 158 grain for the .357. I've read the XTP penetrates pretty well, just didn't know if I should be concerned about the possibility of the bullet not exiting. However, I could also see how the heavy for caliber hard cast SWC bullets could do damage and get an exit hole for a good blood trail

To me it's a hard choice, the XTP is a fantastic bullet but it's also tough to beat a good hardcast. But for hollow point use I'd definitely choose the XTP.

Can't go wrong with either type of bullet but more importantly when it comes to hunting with a handgun is to know your limitations. Shot placement is much more critical.