Hand to Hand tranisition to Gun

stonewall50

I am not exactly sure how to word this, but something I practice farily regularly is how to act in a close up encounter. I do martail arts (Kali and BJJ, but I have experience in boxing and mma[which gives me some limited Muay Thai]) so I have some base knowledge of how to act in a hand fighting situation and I frequently spar in Kali and with one of the Karate classes(which focuses on real self defense and not point sparring).

Well I own heavy bag and an airsoft pistol that is roughly the same size as my XDSC. What I do is I get the bag swinging and step away with my back turned. I step back into the bag's swing line and as soon as I feel it touch I spin and try to get 2-3 quick fast and hard punches on the bag to get it moving away from ME and I draw down(I dont load up the pistol because I would rather not richochet an airsoft pellet back into me lol). What do yall think about this drill? I have been trying to think of a way to adapt it so that I can practice with friends as well.

Basically the adaption is to use gloves(bout mma size), but my problem is that when hitting someone else with a "clearing punch" as I call it, I want to aim at the nose, jaw(bout midline), or throat. I want to essentially drive them away and give me time and I would rather not break bones of friends or throat punch them. Do yall have any ideas on how to practice this in connection with a gun(I do own airsoft so I am not using actual guns)?