Good starter hunting rifle for my dad

Kimio

I know absolutely nothing about hunting rifles. What would be an affordable starter rifle and optic that could take down elk or deer?

Any help would be appreciated.

The smokin'est deal going these days (so I've seen) is the recently introduced Ruger American in .243, .308 or .30-06... fit with a Nikon, Bushnell or Redfield scope. About $600 or less for all of it... and all good quality. Go to WalMart.

There have been some good deals on Savage Axis and Stevens rifles too.

C

A good, affordable and pretty decent quailty option would be a gun from H&R/New England. They sell rifles from .22 all the way to 45-70. They are made very nicely, simple, and durable. They are single shots, but that also makes them cheaper. I recommend a 45-70, but a 30-06 is a good option too. If it was just a deer gun, I love the .243 round. But I'm not an elk expert, and I don't know how well it would do.

H&R guns are LIGHT. They have quite a bit of felt recoil in the heavier calibers.
If you can look past their simple design they are one heck of a deal though.
Doesn;t take a genius or a lot of money to ad a little weight to them either.

Kimio - there can be a huge difference between deer and elk and therefore the calibers and bullet weights/ballistics involved. Since you are a senior poster, you must know a fair bit about guns and ballistics.

First, you didn't describe what you consider to be affordable. Is it closer to $500 or $1,000 or $,1500? You can get the job done at all three, with the right caliber, decent optics and close-enough range, but at $500 new it might be a single-shot primitive-hunter-eligible rifle (like .45-70) with a low-power scope, good for close-in shots, or you could buy a very decent used rifle and hopefully-good scope. Next, you didn't quite say that your dad has never hunted anything before, nor what his shooting experience and ability are.