Going deaf from .357 Mag indoors

Status
Not open for further replies.

Monty

Urban legend or Fact?

I wonder cause I just replaced my nightstand gun (a Ruger Speed Six 2 3/4" load with .357 Mags) with a Ruger KP-90 .45ACP based on the horror stories I have heard about firing a .357 Mag indoors. Felt I wanted more punch than .38 Specials could deliver. Thanks.

I'd rather be deaf than dead any day.

I'm not a doctor, but I've been told by many "safety" oriented people (OSHA comes to mind) that it is prolonged exposure to constant noise that causes hearing loss... not sudden trauma from a one-time event. I don't plan on testing this theory any time soon but it makes sense to me.

Several articles I've read recently make a strong case for having the new electronic ear protection muff as part of your home protection equipment.

A safe room for the spouse and kids, a plan (just like you'd have for a fire), and ear protection which goes on as soon as you perceive a threat. (The electronic muffs actually let you hear BETTER, if you crank up the volume... but still dampen out the loud explosions.)

I think this will be a XMAS present from me to me...

[This message has been edited by Walt Sherrill (edited August 23, 1999).]

I have been subjected to gunfire with no hearing protection, both indoors and outside. Here are some quick observations.

When shooting 44/41/357mag/45 acp +p/10mm/.357sig inside of a building especially hallways with tile floors there is a high probability of busting an ear drum (happened to me twice). If this occurs under duress you won't notice until you try and talk or someone yells at you and you can't tell where it is coming from (no stereo sound to direction find with). If you aren't under duress it will hurt like hell. A busted ear drum heals up fine in about 1 to 2 weeks.

Indoors with carpeted floors are MUCH better at eating the sound up.