First person accounts of Defensive Handgunning

Have you ever drawn a gun in a defensive situation?

• Never drawn a gun on another person.

Votes: 70 56.0%
  • Drew a weapon but did not fire...

Votes: 40 32.0%
  • Drew a weapon & fired... but did not hit BG.

Votes: 4 3.2%
  • Drew a weapon & fire...hit BG.

Votes: 11 8.8%

• Total voters

rellascout

Let me start by saying that I am fairly new to handguns. I got my Sig P228 about 6 months ago. I now own a few and shoot once a week but still consider themselves a newbie.

I read a lot hypothetical posts on this forum and others about defensive use of a handgun. Both inside and outside the home. People post opinions and suggestions of how they would deal with the treat. They give advice about what to do and what not to do. I have often wondered how many of these people have actually been in a situation where they drew a gun because they feared for their safety.

Very few people say when a similar situation happened to me I.... I almost never see posts about real situations people have been in and what happened. I would be interested to hear real life accounts from people about real life situations. It would be helpful to know what they did right and what they did wrong. Did they changed how they train to be better prepared if a similar situation occurred. How fast did everything happen? Were they prepared. Thanks in advance for your replies.

I’m a cop, so I hope I don’t bias your poll.

I’ve drawn down on several people many times; nowadays you just cannot take chances. We do targeted foot patrols in high crime areas in my precinct. We walkup on all kinds of stuff, both day and nighttime.

I’ll tell you once to show me your hands, if you don’t expect to meet the business end of my Glock.

I’ve got a family and a beautiful girlfriend who expects me home every night; I plan on keeping that promise.