First carry gun.

DeusComedis

Inactive
So, I just sent in the application for my Concealed Firearms Permit, and I will be getting the card soon. I am trying to figure out what kind of gun to carry (most likely AIWB). This is not about what specific gun to buy, per se, because I have spent a good number of weekends on rentals, and I know pretty much what I shoot well. It about trigger type and safety.

I realize I'm brand new to this, but no matter the training, I don't really see myself ever becoming full relaxed with the idea of carrying a cocked gun with a chambered round (the only way, right) in a compressed space pointed right at my femoral artery. I am a little concerned about accidentally popping myself - not so much because I will forget my finger is on the trigger in holstering/unholstering (though that is possible), but more so that the gun will be in an area the gets a lot of movement, I reach into my pockets often, and life has a habit of occasionally causing you to brush up against things, bump into people, or fall. Obviously the options are DA/SA decocked, Striker, SA cocked and locked.

- DA/SA this seems to have the best balance between simplicity (Striker) and safety (Cocked and Locked). But the different trigger pulls might be an issue. I can't tell for certain if I would be less accurate with the first shot under stress, but I at least know that I am conscious of any adjustment between the first and second shots at the range. I'd probably prefer not to go this route.
- SAO vs Striker. This is really the main thing for me, and I guess I've been fed a lot of anecdotes that I need to verify.