Duty belts and home defense.

rburch

So I'm licensed as an armed security officer in my state, looking for a job as I'm moving, but that's another story.

My question is, I have a full dutybelt set up that fits my current HD/carry gun.

Since it's much faster to put on than any other holster I have, I've been putting my gun in it at night for home defense use.

My question is there a good reason not to do this?

The belt also has handcuffs, and oc spray on it, and I know the laws about civilian use of handcuffs kinda hard to justify. But would just having them on the belt cause issues?

I'm thinking it shouldn't, but thought I'd ask here too.

Sounds like a good setup to me... Its always nice to be able to raise the level of force (OC to baton and last option pistol) if going hands on doesn't work. It's a very good idea to have cuffs if you ask me, and I don't see a problem with a civilian having them.

I used to be an armed security officer years ago and did the same thing. The only thing I can see is that someone may think you are a cop and expect you to "take the suspect into custody". As an armed security officer in Virginia your arrest authority is limited and would not apply in this situation. That being said I personally would not worry about it. Most Police Officers don't like to handcuff a suspect alone, we do appreciate back up. All you would be doing at most is holding the suspect at bay until law enforcement arrives to properly arrest the suspect. If the bad guy decides to run for it, fine let him go and be a good witness.

The only problem I can see is what if you don't have time to put on the belt? There are some holsters out there designed for duty belts that would be difficult to get the gun out of if not actually on your body.
Do some trial runs and see if you have problems drawing the weapon while the belt is sitting on the floor/nightstand/dresser or wherever you plan to keep it.