Dumbest gun deal you ever did

Brian Bilby

What was the dumbest trade or gun deal that you ever did?

Mine was trading the Diamondback I mentioned earlier for a Tec-9. I was young and stupid att he time so give me a break.

Dumbest deal I ever got from someone was a guy at a local gunshop who bought a High Standard Victor for $90 off a guy and then turned around and sold it to me for $120 because he didn't know what it was.

Brian

I bought my first AR15 in Hawaii when I was stationed there, a Colt Sporter Match HBAR Blue Label for $700. When I got out of the army, I was looking for a good job and was short on cash, so I asked a friend if he would loan me $450 and hold the rifle as collateral. He did...and then he sold it for $550.
That is the one gun I have sold that I regret.

After I graduated from the university, I bought myself a beautiful Belgian Hi-Power, smooth trigger, walnut grips, etc. About a year later, I saw a Beretta 92F that I had to have. I sold the hi-power ... here's the stupid part ... not because I needed the cash, but simply because I didn't understand that having more than one gun that fires the same cartridge was OK!

Ten years ago I sold a Belgium-made Browning Hi-Power with (3) thirteen round mags and a set of carbide reloading dies for....sigh...$450. I can't talk about it anymore.....

------------------

Cool deals I have made....

1917 Colt Army (new service) revolver $275 at a gun shop (try to DREAM about that price now)

Pedersoli Black powder double barrel shotgun $200 at a gun show, used in excellent condition (now selling for $600 in cabela's)

Springfeild 1903-a3 for $50 from a guy I worked with, he made me the offer because I was buying a crossbow for $25 from him...

Bought a Savage 110b and a 4 power leupold gold ring scope from my brother when he joined the navy for $100, gave it back to him when he got out, I kept the scope but I really should have charged him for the rifle, its still shoots sub moa!!!

hahaha

Dr.Rob