Double-Action Dilemma

Der Grosse

I went to the range this weekend to practice with my H&K P7M8 and to try to find a less expensive and different second gun (for the sake of variety). I wanted to try out a DA/SA and the clerk recommended the SIG 239 as a reliable and accurate candidate.

It had been a long time since I had fired anything other than my P7M8. I am relatively new to shooting and had only fired any other guns (Colt .22 target pistols, S&W .38 revolvers, Ruger 9mms) during my 6 week training course on firearms last year and a couple of times while I was deciding what gun to buy (H&K USP 9 and USPc 9), also last year.

Going from my P7M8 to the Sig was a nightmare. The DA pull on the SIG was heavy enough to give me a sense of security, but so incredibly long that it forced me to change my trigger finger position mid-pull. The SA was way too light, the break was imperceptible and it didn't help that the shells went flying in every direction (including on top of my head). Even though I was pretty accurate with it, there is no way I could ever be comfortable with such a trigger.

Which leads me to my dilemma. I have steered away from DAO guns because of my fear of accidental/negligent discharges.
However, it is now clear to me that DA/SA is out of the question since I am so used to my P7M8 (and since it will remain my primary gun). So what are my DAO alternatives?

1. I have dry-fired a Kahr which is supposed to be a 7lbs. pull and thought it to be a little light - would it feel different if it was actually loaded?

2. I have never fired a Glock - how much does it cost to get a "NY" trigger system installed? (I am firing a friend's 17 and 19 tomorrow.)

3. Do the new Steyrs have adjustable trigger pulls?

4. Are there better DA/SA systems?

5. Should I just bite the bullet and get another P7M8?