Does employer's policy override CCW license?

DaveInPA

Quick question. I have my concealed carry license in PA. My employer has a no weapons on company property policy. The problem is that depending on my shift, I have to walk a fairly long distance either to or from my car every day in the dark, without my weapon. Does my employer's no weapon policy override my right to carry concealed weapons?

From an Employer

I'm a committed CCW man, and I'm also an officer for a medium-size company (600+ employees). Since I cannot possibly know the experience, mental state, or level of firearms training of all employees, I have to enforce a strict "no weapons" policy for on-duty time. As the previous post stated, employees are free to ignore the company policy, but only if they no longer wish to work for us.

Check with a local licensed attorney - SERIOUSLY. Laws vary as does juris prudence.

Ferinstance - in Virginia it was illegal to carry your legally concealed weapon into an establishment that had a posted sign proscribing such. The juris prudence was that somebody representing the establishment would have to figure out you were armed, ask you to leave and you would have to refuse (and in some places probably argue with the cops too) and be arrested/issued a summons. That was in 1998 when I got my chl there.

Times may have changed.

Some states have harsh laws on the books about private property owners being able to determine what your RKBA is on their turf. Enforcement and what the courts actually do once the law is enforced can be a mixed bag. Me, I would find out from somebody who knows even if I had to shuck out a buck fifty or so.

I would think at a minimum you could be fired for cause.

Thanks guys. I guess I'll pick up some pepper spray, since a taser is considered a weapon. My employer isn't exactly located in a nice part of town so I would really prefer to have something.

Clarification...