Convince me to not buy a M1 Garand from CMP

Beretta16

Well I made out pretty well this Christmas and I've been considering picking up a service grade M1 Garand from the CMP program. I've heard good things, and really want to own one of these awesome pieces of history. I figure that the m1a I just bought needs some family in the safe, and with the money I got from Christmas, I could cover the cost completely. I am a student, but because of scholarships I'm paying less than $1500 a semester for food, housing and school altogether.

Is there any reason I shouldn't be filling out the paperwork right now? :D

And just in case you guys do a poor job convincing me.. Should I get the Springfield Armory verison or the H&R version? I want one that is in the best possible condition, and since H&R only produced Garands in the 50's (I think:confused:) would I have a better shot at getting a keeper?

DO IT !! I cant forsee any reason if you had to you could not recover your funds plus some from a CMP garand. Great investment. I am not sure if you have a better chance with H&R of a better condition gun or not. Personally I would choose SA because of the chance of getting a WWII rifle. I have one CMP garand and have seriously considered another. I drove to Camp Perry and picked mine out in person.

Someday soon,

Those garands will be gone. You will regret not getting one. It will be great to pass on history to your sons and grandsons.

I got my garand from CMP when it was DCM, 81 or 82. I remember getting it on a Thursday and Friday Night I was suppose to go to Hawaii for a rifle match. I said to heck with it, took my M14 out of the case and replaced it with the M1. The first shot I fired with it was my sighters in the 200 yards Slow fire offhand. Checking my old score books, I didnt do to bad with it either.

I think you'll regret not taking the chance at the M1.

JMHO

Is there any reason I shouldn't be filling out the paperwork right now?