Complete Newbie

DueceOne

Inactive
Hey guys, like the title says, I am brand new not only this forum, but firearms in general! I am so excited to get underway and have many questions. I know mostly people recommend a .22LR for someone's first rifle so they can practice and shoot as much as they can, but I know for a fact that I will be hunting as much as I go to the firing range. That's why I sort of want to buy a 30.06 rifle right off the bat.

Do you guys think this would be unwise for my first rifle? If it isn't that risky of a decision, is there any 30.06 entry level rifles that you guys would recommend? My budget right now I'm willing to spend currently is around $600-800 including a scope. But definitely when I start making more money, I'd be willing to put in a little more money for aftermarket stuff.

If my budget is too low, I'll probably with a .22LR to get started.

Thanks in advance, and I look forward to being a part of this forum!

There is no law saying you must start with a .22 rifle,,,

There is no law saying you must start with a .22 rifle,,,
Except for maybe the law of economics.

Factory 30-06 ammo starts around $1.25 per round,,,
Inflated prices for .22 LR is around 10 to 15 cents per round.

You can't practice without shooting,,,
Can you afford to learn at $1.25 per trigger pull?

It's all about the money,,,
Just like everything else.

Aarond

You can start with whatever rifle you want. That's why it's called starting. But as stated cost of ammo can be an issue if you really want to get good at the trigger pull.

Some like the Ruger American line or Savage has a bunch of good rifles.

The question then turns into what you want. Remington 700's will cost most of your budget before buying a scope. But for getting in to hunting you don't have to buy the most expensive rifle on the shelf. In fact you don't have to buy new. Sometimes the used market is where it's at.