Colt SAA - Pictures _ info needed

Wyoredman

Howdy!

My father-in-law has an old SAA that he says was originally owned by his grandfather. His family were homesteaders in Pleasant Valley, Arizona durring the turn of the century. We would like to find out the year this gun was manufactured and any other info.

It is a 6" (?) .45 Colt SAA. It only has about 40% of it's original finish (my estimate) and seems to function very well. The bore is bright and not much rust can be found anywhere on the gun. The grips seam to have been replaced with stag horn. This gun was suposedly carried every day by the old man as he rode fences and herded his cattle.

The serial number is 258587 and is found on the frame, trigger guard, and butt. I hope these pictures are clear enough to show the condition.

Thanks for any info.

025.jpg

024.jpg

023.jpg

022.jpg

020.jpg

018.jpg

Hard to tell, I think maybe a bit better than 40%. Honest wear... nice patina. I'm not a SAA expert by any stretch of the imagination... hopefully, someone with more knowledge will pop in and expand on my meager comments.

You can submit the SN to Colt Archive services for a letter here. They charge $100 to research a SAA... and you get your money back, and then some, when and if you sell it.

Cheers,
C

No problem. Oh yeah, don't assume those grips, which are in nice shape by the way, are aftermarket items.

Cheers,
C

most likely 1904 or 1905. Gun apprears to be in great condition. You might consider lettering it. (getting an official letter from colt) There is a charge for this service but a letter would GREATLY enhance the value of your gun, and tell you if it's in it's original configuration and where it was originally shipped to. The guns barrel seems to be a standard 5 1/2 inch. The grips (Colt calls them stocks) are most likely aftermarket, but could be original. Congratulations on an exceptionally nice first generation Colt.