cleaning 38spl / 357 brass (inside) for reloading

BondoBob

I'm new to reloading. Is it necessary to clean the INSIDE of the brass at all? I don't really care about shine on the outside.

I'm starting with 38spl and soon 357. I've been saving my store bought factory brass for a year, so they've never touched the ground and look clean on the outside but the insides are filthy. Does that matter? Or can I just de-prime and move forward.

If I do have to clean the inside, Dry Tumble with Walnut is out because we have nut allergies in the house. And I hear corn only cleans the outside.

I was thinking of the harbor freight rotary rock tumbler wet process. Seems like better results than dry tumbling, no dust and it's cheaper. I've seen decent results with this on youtube. If I do that, would you recommend also using media pins, or go without? I guess the challenge is that these cases are narrow and deep compared to others. The formula I've seen online is water, dawn and lemi-shine 2 hr tumble.

Thanks,

Dirty Dude

I never clean the inside of my pistol brass. When the de-priming pin removes the primer, it makes sure there is a nice hole for the primer flame to shoot through. It's important that the outside of the case is clean. I don't want my dies scratched.

You DO want the outside clean so it doesn't scratch the inside of your die; the inside of the brass does not need to be clean.

Is it necessary to clean the INSIDE of the brass at all?

No. It is not necessary, and, its not even useful. The only "inside" part I clean is the inside of the primer pocket, and that's not necessity, just habit.

Your ammo doesn't need to be shiny clean. Looks nice when it is, but it doesn't NEED to be. All it needs to be is smooth and free of "contamination" meaning dust, dirt, corrosion, or anything else that could act as an abrasive, or interfere with chambering.