China made Lyman

floydster

After 6 casting sessions my Lyman Big Dipper pot burned out--no more Lyman products for me.
My friend has two Lee pots he has had for 18 years and still going strong, hench I ordered a Lee pot.
Just a heads up.

Attachments

• Made in China 001.jpg
    Made in China 001.jpg
    240.5 KB · Views: 150
  • Made in China 002.jpg
    Made in China 002.jpg
    236.5 KB · Views: 134
  • Made in China 003.jpg
    Made in China 003.jpg
    233.1 KB · Views: 125
It has everything to do with China. Lyman has chosen to have their stuf made in a Chinese factory now and the Chinese are notorious for using low quality parts to make anything.

Lyman has raised their prices also instead of lowering them because they are now getting cheap junk from China.

I'm a retired general contractor.

Over the last ten years, we bought equipment, hundreds of thousands of dollars of it, from different manufacturers. Some made here, some in Taiwan, some in China, some in Korea, some in Brazil.

The equipment that came from overseas not only met our specs, it exceeded expectations in the majority of purchases.

The lower prices overseas frequently made the difference between "we can do this" and "no, it's too much."

That difference kept us going.

Chinese, Korean, Taiwanese and other foreign companies meet specs.

If those specs are low, the product is low end. If those specs are high, the product is high end.

If you have a product in your hand that doesn't do what it was advertised to do, the nationality of the factory has nothing to do with it. What matters is who wrote the specs.

And for that, you should look closer to home.

The rest is fear, arm waving and xenophobia.

Carry on.

Have you contacted Lyman about your problem? I am sure there is some kind of waranty. Usualy part of the high price is the waranty.